THE DARK WE KNOW

Gillian Flynn Books
August 13, 2024


Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Bookshop | Indigo (CAN)


A lyrical, propulsive YA horror that’s perfect for fans of She Is a Haunting, Stephen King’s It, and The Haunting of Hill House, about a teen who must return home to confront the monster that took the lives of her best friends—before they devour her, too.  

Isadora Chang swore never to return to Slater. Growing up, she never felt at ease in the repressive small town, even before she realized she was bisexual—but after the deaths of two childhood friends, Slater went from feeling claustrophobic to suffocating. Isa took off before the town could swallow her, too. Even though it meant leaving everything she knew behind, including her last surviving friend, Mason. 

When Isa’s abusive father dies, however, she agrees to come back just long enough to collect the inheritance. But then Mason turns up at the cemetery with a revelation and a plea: their friends were murdered by an evil that haunts the town, and he needs Isa to help stop it—before it takes anyone else. 

When Isa begins to hear strange songs on the wind, and eerie artwork fills her sketchbook that she can’t recall drawing, she’s forced to stop running and confront her past. Because something is waiting in the shadows of Slater’s valleys, something that feeds on the pain and heartbreak of its children. Whatever it is, it knows Isa’s back . . . and it won’t let her escape twice. 

A Goodreads Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of 2024


“…a dark and compelling supernatural mystery buoyed by earnestly-written, queer-centric characters. I am enthralled.”

Gillian Flynn, bestselling author of Gone Girl and Sharp Objects

by @NicoleDealArt
by @NicoleDealArt
an isamason playlist by trinity nguyen <3
by @MiradellaArt